Discussion: WG Funding Requests and Talent Compensation

Introduction:

Hi Catdets! First of all, let me introduce myself to the community. I am relatively new to the Solana ecosystem, I onboarded here late December, early Jupuary. I spent the bear market on Hive, holding that bag.
I guess i could be considered a tech enthusiast. or maybe a Power Hobbyist. I’m obsessed with crypto, AI, and tricky algorithms.
I also consider myself to be a budding crypto activist. I have the crazy idea that financial incentive should not be the primary driver in business, crypto or community.
That’s not to say that financial incentive has no place, I’m simply saying that it should not be the ONLY priority, or even the main priority.
I believe the Jupiter ethos aligns with my own. The DAO priorities seem to be:
Growing the ecosystem
Onboarding and educating new users
Growing and rewarding the community
Embracing social good values.
So currently, we have successfully funded 4 WGs across 2 governance sessions. Additionally, there are multiple active WG proposals that are requesting various levels of funding if approved. I don’t have any specific feedback about any of the specific amounts that are currently proposed or have already been approved. I personally think the compensation schemes proposed have been in line with western compensation standards. It cannot be denied however, that these funding requests have been a pretty hotly contested topic.

The Problem:

There currently seems to be a large discrepancy between people’s ideas of what fair compensation is, and there is no defined standard within our community on the subject.
Additionally, there is also a fairly large spread in the funding requests. but the biggest cost is compensation.